Welcome to MGO's Internet Discussion Forums…Please Consider Becoming a Dues-Paying Member of the ORG…Click >>>>>HERE<<<<< for more info…………****DONATIONS**** can also be made toward MGO's Legal Defense Fund and/or MGO's Forums >>>>>HERE<<<<<

KROGER

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    I am a Forum User

Recommend warm hunting coat and pants

I'm new to deer hunting and need to get a warm hunting coat and pants, preferably that can be worn over other layers such as a sweatshirt and jeans.

I've seen several brands and types in various stores, but none of them looked like they would be very warm. Can anyone recommend warm gear that won't break the bank and that will last? Nice pockets would be a bonus.

Thanks!

Secret to warmth is 2-3 layers. First layer you need tight, poly something wicking. Can be Russel, champion, duofold, under armour whatever. Pants and long sleeve shirt. Then get a long sleeve t or warm up. Then you wear a fleece or jacket.

For me it's all about layers, good boots, too shelf socks, stay dry. Good gloves.

I like the thick poly duluth trading socks.

I have carhartt baselayer, eddie bauer, champion/duofold, under armour, under armour cold condition gear etc etc it's all very similar but it's the most important. Gives you warmth with no bulk. You can be fine walking you don't sweat, if you do it wicks.

I am a Forum User
    The problem I have with modern cold weather coats and pants is they are all some sort of nylon weatherproof shell that is very loud when you move in it. I have a Cabelas jacket that has a soft, weatherproof, scentlock outer layer. The outermost layer gets wet, but the under layers stay dry.

I am a Forum User
    Insulated overalls may be low tech, but work well in the cold..
    wearing layers as described above, helps too..
    Most important are good boots that keep your feet warm, even when you are not moving around..
    Don't forget warm hat & gloves.

I am a Forum User