Welcome to MGO's Internet Discussion Forums…Please Consider Becoming a Dues-Paying Member of the ORG…Click >>>>>HERE<<<<< for more info…………****DONATIONS**** can also be made toward MGO's Legal Defense Fund and/or MGO's Forums >>>>>HERE<<<<<

Firearms Legal Protection

I am a Forum User

Gas block and tube question for the experts

In a dilemma. I just purchased a used upper from a buddy in 450 legend, missing the gas block and tubing. I have a bca 350 upper I've been using for reference. On my 350, the tube seems to measure about 11.75" from end of gas block to the bolt carrier end.

My question is, I know I need a low profile gas block because of the forearm. The 450 upper measure's 18.75" from end of barrel (before muzzle break) to the bolt carrier mark. Where the old gas block was is the same measurement as my 350 upper.

Can anyone tell me the exact setup I should buy (length, diameter, which block)

I'm brand new to the platform, thanks for the help.

I am a Forum User
    I'm not an expert, but have tinkered with a few arfs.

This all depends on which gas system you have on your upper.
    From the chamber to the hole where the gas block goes as in this diagram.

More reading on the topic at Primary Arms: https://www.primaryarms.com/MCategor...-15-Gas-Blocks
    (top of the page, click on Gas Block buyers guide)

Measure that, and order the correct tube.
    Also measure the journal where the block attaches. Most common in the ar15 works in 750, but not all are the same. Different barrel profiles will have different journal sizes.
    Save a good amount of brain damage and buy an adjustable gas block. Most systems are by default overgassed, and this allows you some flexibility when playing with different ammo, buffer weights, barrels, systems, etc. Spend the extra couple bucks for an adjustable GB.