Welcome to MGO's Internet Discussion Forums…Please Consider Becoming a Dues-Paying Member of the ORG…Click >>>>>HERE<<<<< for more info…………****DONATIONS**** can also be made toward MGO's Legal Defense Fund and/or MGO's Forums >>>>>HERE<<<<<

Firearms Legal Protection

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    I am a Forum User

Opinions on 450BM for hunting White Tail

So I’ve recently acquired a new rifle for hunting, it’s a really nice quality rifle and it’s in 450BM cause frankly I don’t have time anymore to travel north for rifle season. What’s your guys/gals opinions on this caliber and tell me some stories on your experience! Would really love the input and the stories!

Thanks

I am a Forum User
    I have a couple 450 bushmaster uppers, and love the round. Definitely a short range cartridge, but a lot of hunters aren't usually shooting more than 50-100 yards. I have seen a couple guys shooting out past 200yds (one guy out to 300 or better), but you really need to know your wind drifts. With that said, it is a very effective hunting round, if you have the right bullet. When I got into it, the only options for ammo were Hornady 250gr FTX or Remington 260gr Accutip. Hornady usually had good accuracy, but the terminal performance has been all over the map. The Remington has always been poor across the board. Biggest issues with the Rem were overall lengths and crimps, which gave poor accuracy and consistency, along with unimpressive terminal performance. Nowadays there are more offerings, even high end boutique loads (they get pricey though), that now offer more (and better) bullet choices.