Welcome to MGO's Internet Discussion Forums…Please Consider Becoming a Dues-Paying Member of the ORG…Click >>>>>HERE<<<<< for more info…………****DONATIONS**** can also be made toward MGO's Legal Defense Fund and/or MGO's Forums >>>>>HERE<<<<<

Firearms Legal Protection

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Account Closed Forum User

What kind of accuracy and distance is the 450 Bushmaster bolt action rifles good for?

I have been using a 30-30 for the last 35+ years for deer hunting out to 125 yards. I've been considering a purchasing a 450 Bushmaster bolt action rifle for deer hunting.

What kind of accuracy and groups do you get with your rifles, and about how far is a safe accurate shot for taking a deer?

What type of bolt action rifle do you have and do you shoot Factory or reload ammo?

Thanks

Edit: How hard is it take take to a Ruger Factory 450 Bushmaster muzzle brake off? I talked to Randy and he said that they are a bear to get off.
    Last edited by Outdoorman; 09-05-2021 at 11:15 PM.

MGO Member
    Have a Ruger 22" .450 American and with Hornady Black the accuracy is amazing! For a cheap light barrel rifle it will shoot under 2 " at 200yds slow fire off the bags. Mind you I hand lapped the barrel, adjusted the trigger (a bunch) and set the action screw torque. With that said with a range finder and a perfect still target and little wind I may try 250 yds, some days my limit is 100yds. All depends on your skill level and a lot of other things.

I am a Forum User
    Can't help you on the bolt action side of it. No personal experience.