Welcome to MGO's Internet Discussion Forums…Please Consider Becoming a Dues-Paying Member of the ORG…Click >>>>>HERE<<<<< for more info…………****DONATIONS**** can also be made toward MGO's Legal Defense Fund and/or MGO's Forums >>>>>HERE<<<<<

Firearms Legal Protection

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    I am a Forum User

red dot for defense?

I have noticed the some guns now come with a red dot (like a mini scope, not lazer). Is this a good idea for self defense gun? I have never used one, is it harder to acquire a target over iron sight?
    Thanks.

MGO Member
    I'm no expert, but I think they would be easier to acquire over iron sights. Another advantage is that you can keep both eyes open, maintaining binocular vision. Be interested to know what other more experience shooters may contribute.

I am a Forum User
    Like everything you’ll need to practice. I have switched to red dots on all my carry and competition guns

Easier to acquire once you get used to them for sure, but I don't really like them.

I'm so used to iron sights that I don't really want to use optics because then I feel I'd have to use optics on all of my guns to keep it consistent.

I am a Forum User
    I like red dots (Burris FF3 & Vortex venom) on my target .22's, but can be hard to pick up the dot when first getting use to it. The only thing I have for defense with a red dot is my HD shotgun, it has a Burris FF3 on it, I don't own any tube style red dots though. I find that the red dot is very easy to pick up in low light for HD as when I may need it for an intruder during the night. I'm not going to change my EDC over from open sights though, I find it to be a little bulky, don't want to purchase new holsters, IWB would seem impractical, and don't want to rely on battery operated sights. Just my two cents.

I am a Forum User