Welcome to MGO's Internet Discussion Forums…Please Consider Becoming a Dues-Paying Member of the ORG…Click >>>>>HERE<<<<< for more info…………****DONATIONS**** can also be made toward MGO's Legal Defense Fund and/or MGO's Forums >>>>>HERE<<<<<

KROGER

Thread: New to hunting

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    I am a Forum User

New to hunting

I am new to all things hunting, i am going to go through the proper steps to gain a license. I thought about doing the online course with a field day. The question is is there any place local to macomb county to do a field day? When i go through the DNR site the closest is Davidson or Midland. There must be something closer, right? Any ideas are appreciated, thank you.

Good luck bud!
    The DNR hunter safety programs have become almost non-existent, and trying to find something in your immediate area is like playing the megaball - even just the stupid "field day".
    Even if you do find one - better jump on it because the spots disappear like Taylor Swift tickets.

You do have the option of obtaining a "apprentice" license (you can get 2 max lifetime) without the hunter safety course - but there are drawbacks to those types of tags with all the rules that come along with being an "apprentice".

I am a Forum User
    I have been told to do the apprentice route for now while going through the safety program. I need to find out if i will also have to then pay for an apprentice license along with a hunting license.

Not sure what you mean, but here are all your options:
    https://www.mdnr-elicense.com/Home/AllProductsForSale
    OR the top of page 10 of the hunting digest explains what I wrote out below
    https://www.michigan.gov/-/media/Pro...ing_digest.pdf

As a resident you'll need
    apprentice base [#120] - that's your small game $11
    then buy what ever else you want
    single deer (1 buck) $20
    deer combo (2 bucks) $40
    doe (antlerless) $20
    turkey, waterfowl, etc